Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - August 12, 2014 11th Annual New Mexico Open presented by Tenpins & More, Storm August 11-17

New Mexico Open Brings Big Bowling Action to Rio Rancho

The Rio Rancho Convention & Visitors Bureau (RRCVB) and the City of Rio Rancho congratulate Tenpins & More for their continued success with the New Mexico Open, which is also the state’s biggest and richest bowling tournament, with a record of cash prizes and awards totaling more than $56,000 this year! The New Mexico Open is a bowling tournament that Rio Rancho is proud to host and sponsor.

The core goal of the RRCVB is to make a significant financial contribution to the economy of Rio Rancho through travel and visitation and this three (3) day tournament undoubtedly contributes to that goal. The New Mexico Open attracts competitors from all over the country. “Our main objective is to focus on events which put guests in our hotels and restaurants but when it happens annually we love it”, said Matt Geisel, RRCVB Director.

In all the New Mexico Open continues to attract up to 240 bowlers to Rio Rancho which translates into gross receipts dollars for the City and a boost to local restaurants, lodging facilities and other services. For more details on how to rest, re-charge and re-fuel in Rio.


Main Event Schedule

Friday August 15
Qualifying Squads 9am • 2:30pm
Saturday August 16  
Qualifying Squads 7am • 12:30pm • 6:30pm
Sunday August 17
Semi-Finals Top 48 • 7:45am
Match-Play Top 12 • 11 am
Stepladder Finals Top 5 • 3pm - 5pm


Local Bowlers Get Tips, Prize Money and Fun With Pro-Am

Local league bowlers from across the metro area get their money’s and Big Cash Money worth in the annual Pro-Am that accompanies the New Mexico Open.  For a modest entry fee, they bowl 3 games of 9-pin No-Tap scoring, plus handicap plus the scores of the three pros who bowl with them, a chance at an estimated $2,100 in prize-money and youth scholarships, tips from the pros and a whole lot of fun and laughter.

Squads are scheduled on Tuesday, August 12 and Wednesday, August 13 at 4.30 pm and 7 pm as well as 7.30 pm on Friday August 15.  There are separate divisions for adults, seniors and youth, with guaranteed first place cash in adults and seniors.


The First 9 NMO Winners In First 10 Years

John Young of Albuquerque, won the first two New Mexico Open tournaments in 2004 and 2005, a feat that has yet to be repeated.  Young beat other New Mexicans, Carl Chavez 224-186 and Dennis Brown 205-157 respectively.

Since then it’s been all out-of-state visitors who have claimed our state crown although we’ve been close a couple times. In 2006, Team USA’s David Haynes beat Eric Espinda 267-234 while in 2008, Mark Van Meter lost to Mark French 198-257.  2007 was Shawn Lee’s year, running the step-ladder and beating then PBA “Rookie-of-the-Year”, Chris Johnson 238-193, whilst Chris Klerk did the same thing in 2009, beating Josh Blanchard 258-235.

In 2010, current USBC president, Andrew Cain ran the field too including a tough-scoring 184-170 win over 2002 ABC Masters winner, Brett Wolfe. The following year, Devin Bidwell straddled the ball return using the sixth arrow to beat PBA Champion, Mike Edwards 285-242.

Lonnie Waliczek continued the Wichita tradition over Kris Prather 206-193 in 2012, followed by Nathan Bohr for a Kansas three-peat, when he beat Geoffrey Young 188-183 last year.

Storm Welcomes New Mexico Open Bowlers!

To download and view 2014 New Mexico Open Program go to:  newmexicoopenprogram

To visit tournament host bowling center go to:

Follow Tenpins & More At Rio Rancho on Facebook:  tenpins-more





Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

August, 2014