Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - January 17, 2014 Belmo Wins PBA Player of the Year!

Storm star Jason Belmonte was named the 2012-13 Professional Bowlers Association Chris Schenkel Player of the Year today during a special live presentation on PBA’s online bowling channel, Xtra Frame.

In earning his first Player of the Year honor, Belmonte won two titles, including the USBC Masters – his first major – and had runner-up finishes in three other major championships: the 2012 PBA World Championship, U.S. Open and 2013 PBA Tournament of Champions. He won the George Young High Average Award, scoring at a 228.81 pace over 422 games, and the Harry Smith Point Leader Award with 238,903 points. The only major statistical category he didn’t win was earnings, where his $186,465 total ranked third behind 2011-12 Player of the Year Sean Rash’s $248,317 and Mika Koivuniemi’s $227,851.

Belmonte, known for his unique two-handed delivery, joined Venezuela’s Amleto Monacelli and Finland’s Koivuniemi as the third foreign-born player to win the PBA’s highest annual competition honor. He was also the first two-handed player to win the award.

“This award has a lot of meaning for me because it represents the fact that you can do it your way and be successful,” Belmonte said. “I’ve taken a lot of criticism but I’m a firm believer in pinning your ears back and going for your dreams.”

Belmonte, who owns seven career titles, captured Harry Golden Rookie of the Year honors after winning his first title during the 2008-09 season.

“This is an honor every player wants to win but something you can never plan for,” Belmonte added. ”There’s no deadline to achieve it, only a massive bonus for your career if you do.”

Also finishing among the top three in Player of the Year voting was Rash, Montgomery, Ill., who was trying for his second consecutive honor, and Weber, a 51-year-old PBA Hall of Famer from St. Ann, Mo., who was hoping to win the crown for the first time in his career. Belmonte received his award live on Xtra Frame at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich., where the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions gets underway on Saturday.

Rash won two PBA International Tour titles in Kuwait and Thailand, and made TV shows in the 2012 and ’13 PBA World Championships and the 2013 TOC. In addition to leading the earnings list, Rash finished third in average and competition points.

Weber, a 37-time PBA Tour champion, won the 2013 Tournament of Champions for his record-tying 10th career major and finished third in the 2013 U.S. Open (an event he has won a record five times) and third in the 2013 PBA World Championship.

During the Xtra Frame presentation, PBA Commissioner Tom Clark also presented the PBA Rookie of the Year Award to E.J. Tackett of Huntington, Ind.; the 2013 Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award to Ryan Shafer of Horseheads, N.Y. (Eugene McCune of Munster, Ind., accepted on behalf of Shafer), and the inaugural Tony Reyes Community Service Award to PBA Hall of Famer Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J.

The end-of-season awards announcements culminate an expanded 14-month campaign that began in November 2012 and ended Dec. 31, 2013, as the PBA returned to a traditional calendar year season that began on Jan. 1.


2012-13 – Jason Belmonte

2011-12 – Sean Rash

2010-11 - Mika Koivuniemi

2009-10 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2008-09 - Wes Malott

2007-08 - Chris Barnes

2006-07 - Doug Kent

2005-06 - Tommy Jones

2004-05 - Patrick Allen

2003-04 - Mika Koivuniemi

2002-03 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2001-02 - Parker Bohn III

2000 - Norm Duke

1999 - Parker Bohn III

1998 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1997 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1996 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1995 - Mike Aulby

1994 - Norm Duke

1993 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1992 - Dave Ferraro

1991 - David Ozio

1990 - Amleto Monacelli

1989 - Amleto Monacelli

1988 - Brian Voss

1987 - Marshall Holman

1986 - Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1985 - Mike Aulby

1984 - Mark Roth

1983 - Earl Anthony

1982 - Earl Anthony

1981 - Earl Anthony

1980 - Wayne Webb

1979 - Mark Roth

1978 - Mark Roth

1977 - Mark Roth

1976 - Earl Anthony

1975 - Earl Anthony

1974 - Earl Anthony

1973 - Don McCune

1972 - Don Johnson

1971 - Don Johnson

1970 - Nelson Burton Jr.

1969 - Billy Hardwick

1968 - Jim Stefanich

1967 - Dave Davis

1966 - Wayne Zahn

1965 - Dick Weber

1964 - Bob Strampe

1963 - Billy Hardwick


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

January, 2014