Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - July 27, 2014 Koivuniemi Wins Dream-Bowl Palace Open for His 10th EBT Title; Barrett , Palermaa and Williams Finish Top 25

2014EBT10MikaKoivuniemi3.jpgMika Koivuniemi (pictured right) of Finland survived three one-game eliminator rounds Sunday afternoon at Dream-Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany, en route to win his 10th European Bowling Tour title in the Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open and the 7.000 Euro top prize. He is the first two-time winner this season.

Koivuniemi, who owns 13 career PBA Tour titles in the United States including the 2000 USBC Masters, 2001 U.S. Open and 2011 Tournament of Champions, led the last four game round of the finals with 940 to hold a 39 pin lead heading into the first of three eliminator rounds.

Joining the two-time PBA Player of the Year (2003-04 and 2010-11) were Richard Teece, England (901), Joonas Jehkinen, Finland (894), and Tobias Börding, Germany (879). The lowest-scoring player (total pins) after each round was eliminated. 


Koivuniemi started with a 179 game and Jehkinen (204) and Teece (187) narrowed the gap. Börding (above left) (190) finished 19 pins behind Teece and was eliminated and received 2.200 Euro for fourth place.

2014EBT04JoonasJehkinen.jpgLeading by 21 pins, Koivuniemi started the second round with a five-bagger to pull away with 226. Jehkinen closed out for 200 and Teece (above left), who had 157, was eliminated to finish third, worth 3.000 Euro.

Trailing by 47 pins, Jehkinen (right) was unable to put any pressure on Koivuniemi and fell to the long-time Finnish national team member in the last eliminator round, 197-181 and 1542-1479. Defending champion Jehkinen, who won his first EBT title in the 2013 Track Dream-Bowl Palace Open, earned 5.000 Euro for second place.

Koivuniemi became just the fourth player in the 15-year history of the European Bowling Tour to win 10 titles. Osku Palermaa, Finland, and Paul Moor, England, are tied for first place with record 13 titles. Gery Verbruggen, Belgium, is third with 11 titles.

Koivuniemi's victory broke a tie for fourth place with Dominic Barrett, England, who won his 9th title in last week's San Marino Open to sit in fifth place on the all-time EBT title list. 

Dream-Bowl Palace Open - Final Standings
1. Mika Koivuniemi, Finland, 7.000 Euro
2. Joonas Jehkinen, Finland,  5.000 Euro 
3. Richard Teece, England, 3.000 Euro
4. Tobias Börding, Germany,  2.000 Euro 
5. Dominic Barrett, England, 1.800 Euro


6. Chris Klerk, United States, 1.600 Euro
7. Frederik Øhrgaard, Denmark, 1.500 Euro
8. Tommy Jones, United States, 1.400 Euro
9. Daniel Fransson, Sweden, 1.300 Euro
10. Birgit Pöppler, Germany, 1.200 Euro
11. Hansi Glasl, Germany, 1.120 Euro
12. Eike Kabowski, Germany, 1.100 Euro
13. Christopher Sloan, Ireland, 1.080 Euro
14. Johnni Adsbøl, Denmark, 1.060 Euro
15. Carsten Warming Hansen, Denmark, 1.040 Euro
16. Christopher Lam, England, 1.000 Euro
17. Joachim Karlsson, Sweden, 780 Euro
18. Maxime de Rooij, Germany, 780 Euro
19. Osku Palermaa, Finland, 780 Euro
20. Thomas Larsen, Denmark, 780 Euro
21. Jimmy Mortensen, Denmark, 760 Euro
22. Stuart Williams, England, 760 Euro
23. Daria Kovalova, Ukraine, 760 Euro
24. Ramon Hilferink, Netherlands, 760 Euro
25. Marco Baade, Germany, 740 Euro 
For complete final standings click here:  bowlingdigitaldreambowlopen
(BOLD = Storm and Roto Grip Staff)

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

July, 2014