Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - July 18, 2014 Martin Paulsson takes over pole position in 10th San Marino Open, Storm's Martin Larsen Cracks Top-10

Swedish bowlers dominated Thursday's qualifying at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle as Martin PaulssonMarkus JanssonPatrick BackeDaniel Fransson and Martin Larsen cracked the top 10 in the 13th qualifying squad of the 10th San Marino Open.

Paulsson (pictured left), World Champion in Doubles with Mathias Årup in Munich, Germany, in 2010, averaged 244.50 including games of 268, 276, 214, 203, 248 and 258 to overtake the pole position in the 145-player field from 22 countries with 1467.


Previous leader Federico Rossi (above right) of Italy, who held the lead since the fourth squad with 1449, slipped to second place. Markus (below left), son of legendary Raymond Jansson, rolled the second 300 of the event in his second game and added five games between 203 and 245 to jump into third place with 1439.


Just five pins behind was veteran Backe (above right), a three-time world champion (1999, 2003), was mere five pins behind with 1434 including a high game of 268 and a pair of 250s to move into fourth place. Fransson and Larsen leaped into sixth and ninth place with 1390 and 1380, respectively.

Joining Paulsson, Rossi, Jansson and Backe in the 1400-club was Juhani Tonteri (left) of Finland who led Squad 14 Thursday evening with 1407 and an average of 234.50. Tonteri had games of 204, 238, 254, 275, 231 and 205.

Rounding out the top 8, who will receive two byes for the finals, is currently Carsten Warming Hansen of Denmark with 1381 (230.17 average). Two-time PBA Player of the year and nine-time European Bowling Tour champion Mika Koivuniemi (above right), Finland, paced Squad 12 with 1365 ( 227.50) to finish the day in 12th place.

Two-time European Bowling Tour champion Peter Hellström, Sweden, sits in 16th and last place to earn a first-round bye with 1349 (224.83).  The score to make the cut in 35th place raised by 81 pins on Thursday. Denmark's Anders Lousdal (below left) is the man on the bubble with 1272 (212 average). With seven squads remaining on Friday (3) and Saturday (4), there are no women in the top 35. Luminita Farkas-Bucin (below right) of Romania is the best of just 11 women in the field in 38th place with 1262 including 48 pins handicap.


Qualifying continues Friday, July 18, with Squads 15-17 scheduled to start at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2014EBT10SanMarinoOpenLogo_small.jpg2014EBT10SanMarinoOpenLogo2_small.jpgThe 10th Storm San Marino Open is the 10th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of six EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The 10th anniversary edition will be held 12-20 at 18-lane Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 60.000 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

The San Marino Open features a 42 feet Kegel lane conditioning pattern with 24.84 ml volume oil total.

Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday July 12 through Saturday, July 19 with the last qualifying squad 21 scheduled for 9 p.m. CEST. The qualifying winner will receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad scheduled to start at Midnight. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

A total of 48 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 20, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 12-13, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 14-15, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 16-17, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in round two. Those 24 bowl another 4 games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will join the top eight in the last four-game round before the cut to the top 4.

Those four will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies. The last man standing will be declared the champion. - See more at:

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

July, 2014