Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - July 17, 2014 Dane Leads Wednesday's Qualifying Squads, Italian Federico Rossi Holds Onto Lead; Storm's Tim Mack Cracks Top-8

Danish national team member Carsten Warming Hansen (pictured below left) averaged over 230 in Squad 9 en route to leap into second place in the qualifying of the 10th San Marino Open Wednesday afternoon at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle.

Hansen, who had two top-4 finishes this season, is still looking to win his first European Bowling Tour. The Dane had a slow start with 160 but finished strong with game of 236, 268, 246, 247 and 224 for 1381 and an average of 230.17.

Federico Rossi (below right) of Italy continued to lead the 105-player field from 13 countries, 96 men and nine women, with 1449, including the lone 300 game so far, and an average of 241.50.
Rossi's compatriots Amedeo Spada and Alessandro Silletti (left) slipped one spot to third and fourth place with 1375 and 1347, respectively.
2014EBT10TimMack.jpgFormer world champion Tim Mack (right) topped the 24 players of Squad 10 to move into fifth place with 1338 (223 average). Mack, who has won numerous international titles in his career including the EBT's British Open in 2004, had games of 230, 192, 228, 208, 222 and 258.

Germany's Oliver Morig (below left) slipped from fourth to sixth place with 1337 and is followed by four-time EBT champion Pasi Uotila (below right) from Finland.
The member of the gold medal team at the 2013 World Championships started Squad 9 with 238, 279 and 278 before he closed out with three consecutive sub-200 games.  Rounding out the top 8, who will receive two byes for the finals, is currently Andrea Spadavecchia of Italy with 1325 (220.83 average).
Another three players, Mikael Brændeskov, Denmark (9th, 1317), Squad 11 leader Brian Voss (below left), United States (11th, 1308) and Davide Spagnoli, Italy (12th, 1306) cracked the 1300-bar and positioned themselves in the top 16, who will received a first-round bye.
As qualifying has surpassed the halfway point, 29th place Laurence Gaillard (below left) of France is the lone woman in the top 35 with 1206 including eight pins handicap each game. Luciano Lambertini of Italy holds the 35th and last place to qualify directly for the finals with 1191 and an average of 198.50.
Qualifying continues Thursday, July 17, with Squads 12-14 scheduled to start at noon, 4 and 8 p.m. Central European Summer Time (CEST).

2014EBT10SanMarinoOpenLogo_small.jpg2014EBT10SanMarinoOpenLogo2_small.jpgThe 10th Storm San Marino Open is the 10th stop of the 2014 European Bowling Tour and the third out of six EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The 10th anniversary edition will be held 12-20 at 18-lane Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 60.000 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.300 to the third and 2.400 to the fourth place finisher.

The San Marino Open features a 42 feet Kegel lane conditioning pattern with 24.84 ml volume oil total.

Qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) runs from Saturday July 12 through Saturday, July 19 with the last qualifying squad 21 scheduled for 9 p.m. CEST. The qualifying winner will receive a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Qualifying concludes with the one-game Desperado Squad scheduled to start at Midnight. Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

A total of 48 players will advance to the finals on Sunday, July 20, including the top 35 qualifiers plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 12-13, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 14-15, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 16-17, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad.

The top 8 qualifiers receive two byes and qualifiers 9-16 get a first-round bye. The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in round two. Those 24 bowl another 4 games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will join the top eight in the last four-game round before the cut to the top 4.

Those four will determine the winner in an eliminator-format finals which will feature three one-game rounds. All four players bowl the opening game, with the lowest-scoring player being eliminated. In the two rounds to follow, the same "low man out" format applies. The last man standing will be declared the champion.

See more by visiting:

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

July, 2014