Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - July 17, 2014 Pete Weber Wins Fourth and Back-to-Back ESPYS For Best Bowler



PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber of St. Ann, Mo., won his fourth Best Bowler ESPY Award Wednesday during the 22nd annual ESPY Awards ceremony at the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles.

Weber was the leading vote-getter among Best Bowler candidates Jason Belmonte, Wes Malott and Sean Rash, who attended the event with his wife Sara and father Gene Rash. ESPN awards for a variety of sports categories and special moments are determined by fan voting on

Weber, who previously won the Best Bowler ESPY in 2002, 2004 and 2013, won after completing the PBA's Triple Crown for a second time, winning the USBC Senior Masters title – a PBA50 Tour major – and earning PBA50 Rookie of the Year honors.

"It's not necessarily based on whoever did the best bowling because Belmo should have won, hands down," Weber said, "But that just goes to show I have more fans around the world than he does.

"That said, it's absolutely a nice thing," he added. "I'm honored, I'm humbled, I'm grateful, all of the above. It's neat to see I actually do have that many fans."

Best Bowler ESPY Award Winners

2014 – Pete Weber
2013 – Pete Weber
2012 – Sean Rash
2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke
1994 – Norm Duke

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

July, 2014