Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - April 8, 2014 PBA League Elias Cup Finals Sunday on ESPN

Television and Internet personality Chris Hardwick and L.A. Clippers all-star guard Chris Paul will have a score to settle this Sunday on ESPN at 2 p.m. ET when their respective Professional Bowlers Association League teams battle it out for the 2014 PBA League Elias Cup from Brunswick Zone Carolier in North Brunswick, N.J.

In what can be called the 'Battle of Los Angeles,' Hardwick's Silver Lake Atom Splitters presented by Spiceworks team, and Paul's L.A. X presented by team, were the two surviving teams from an original eight-team field that competed in a six-round series of head-to-head single-elimination team matches that incorporated singles, alternate-shot doubles, trios and Baker team contests.

During each PBA League match, one point is awarded for a win in singles, doubles and trios contests with three points at stake in the five-player Baker team finale. In case of a 3-3 tie at the conclusion of the match, a one-ball, sudden-death roll-off between players selected by the team managers will determine the winner.

The Atom Splitters are managed by four-time PBA Tour champion and noted bowling instructor Mark Baker. L.A. X is managed by former Team USA member and current United States Bowling Congress President Andrew Cain.

Sunday's opening singles match up will feature reigning PBA Player of the Year two-handed Storm star Jason Belmonte bowling for L.A. X against 17-time Tour champion and former Player of the Year Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, representing the Atom Splitters.

In the alternate-shot doubles match, Barnes will pair with 2003 USBC Masters champion Bryon Smith of Roseburg, Ore., against PBA Hall of Famer Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J., a 33-time Tour winner, and his partner two-time Player of the Year and 13-time Tour titlist Mika Koivuniemi of Finland.

In the trios match, the Atom Splitters lineup will send 15-time Tour winner Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, S.C., Storm's Dom Barrett of England and Roto Grip's Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, against L.A. X's Belmonte,  Storm's Andres Gomez of Colombia and 2012-13 Rookie of the Year E.J. Tackett of Huntington, Ind.

In the Baker team finale, the Atom Splitters' Smith, Barnes, Barrett, Malott and Jones will line up against L.A. X's Koivuniemi, Tackett, Gomez, Belmonte and Bohn.

The PBA League Elias Cup is named after the late PBA Hall of Famer Eddie Elias who founded the PBA in 1958. 


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

April, 2014