Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - August 12, 2013 The World Arrives in Las Vegas

The WTBA World Championships will be held from August 16-31, 2013 at Sunset Station's Strike Zone bowling center, a 72-laner in Henderson, Nev., in suburban Las Vegas, United States. 

The Championships will be hosted by four partners: the World Tenpin Bowling Association, the United States Bowling Congress, Station Casinos and the City of Henderson, USA. 

Storm Products is a sponsor of the event.

For the first time since 2003 in Malaysia, the men will bowl alongside the women in a World Championship. The field will consist of 36 men's and 36' women teams with maximum six players each. 

Eight teams plus host country United States come from the Pan American Bowling Confederation (PABCON). The Asian Bowling Federation (ABF) will be represented by 12 teams and 15 teams qualified from the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF). 

26 countries will participate in both men's and women's division. Those countries are: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Korea, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Sweden, United States (Host), and Venezuela. 

Ten countries (Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Greece, Kuwait, Norway, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, and UAE) will send a men's team and ten countries (Catalonia, China, Chinese Taipei, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, and Ukraine) will send a women's team. 

The 2013 World Championships will award medals in six disciplines in each division - Singles, Doubles, Trios, Team, All Events and Masters. 

The World Tenpin Bowling Association, which is made up of 112 bowling federations, governs the sport throughout the world. For more information on WTBA, go to


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

August, 2013