Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - May 18, 2012 Lalisang, Frillingos Excel at 9th Euro-Med Storm International Masters Challenge

Indonesian National bowler and Storm staff Ryan Lalisang was consistent the whole afternoon as he led the top 24 semi finalist in the 9th Euro-Med Storm International Masters Challenge at the Pearl Bowling Center inside HP Pearl Sports Center. Ryan ended the afternoon with back to back 279 games for a total of 2004 series for eight games. Pins came a crashing as a ton of strikes were thrown at the Challenge sponsored by Euro-Med Laboratories and Storm Products. Guam-Bowlmart-Storm’s Jay Leon Guerrero rolled the sixth perfect game on lanes 1-2 during the second game then the seventh 300 game was bowled a game later by Kim Hyun Bum on lanes 13-14. Remy Ong fired the eighth perfect game of the tournament on 9-10 on the last game.

Australian and Storm staff George Frillingos is in second with 1980, while KPBA lady bowler Seul Ki Kim is in third with a 1964 series, Singaporean Remy Ong moved into fourth with a 1946 to finish ahead of Kim Hyun Bum who rolled a 1938 series. Brunswick pro staff Ryan Ciminelli dropped to sixth after leading the whole way. Ng Tiac Pin, Singapore, bowled a 1888 series to finish 13 pins ahead of Brunswick pro staff, Parker Bohn III. Malaysian national bowlers Sin Li Jane And Zulmazran Zulkifli rounds up the top 10 with 1871 and 1870 respectively. The cut off for the top 24 ended with a four way tie with a 1782 series or an average of 222.75. the four bowlers are Malaysian national bowlers Alex Liew, Aris Ardila, American pro bowler Dino Castillo and Philippine national youth bowler Krizzah Tabora.

Other bowlers who made the top 24 are two time Euro-Med Storm Champion, Gu Yong Jin, Tournament of Champion winner Sean Rash, Guam national bowler Jay Leon Guerrero, and Thailand’s Surasak Manuwong. Korean pro bowler Jeong Tae Hwa, Philippine national bowler Biboy Rivera, and Malaysian national team member Adrian Ang. They will all come back to bowl eight more games tomorrow before cutting the field to top 8.

The top 24 bowlers will return tomorrow for another eight games where the field will then be cut to the top eight bowlers. The top eight will bowl round robin matches where the top four will go into a step ladder format. This challenge is also sponsored by ASI, AZO, EGI, Roto Grip, Bevida Distilled Drinking Water, Ark International, Coca Cola products, Wave Products, Manila Prime Holdings, and Premiere Insurance & Surety Corporation. Bowlmart Training Institute led by Mr. Yap Kok Wee has done a wonderful job in conditioning the lane to make the tournament challenging, fun, and fair. Manila Bulletin and Sports Weekly are the media partners, while Heritage Hotel has been a fantastic host to the foreign participants as the official hotel.

Share this Story:

previous article »