Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - April 16, 2012 Belmonte Third at T of C...13 Out of 17 For Storm/Roto Grip!

Sean Rash of Montgomery, Ill., won the PBA Tournament of Champions at Red Rock Lanes Sunday, ending a five-year, 14-tournament television drought with a 239-205 victory over Ryan Ciminelli of Cheektowaga, N.Y.

Rash, who hadn’t won a title since the 2007 United States Bowling Congress Masters, started the title match with four strikes and bowled an almost error-free game to win the $80,000 first prize and the fifth title of his career.

In the semifinal match, Ciminelli missed a 7 pin in the first frame but raced away to a 257-223 victory over Storm staffer Jason Belmonte, striking on nine of his next 10 shots. Belmonte couldn’t solve the right lane until the 10th frame and by then it was too late. Belmonte came into the finals with three victories during the 2011-12 PBA Tour season and was considered a leading contender in the PBA Player of the Year race.

Belmonte used a Storm Marvel™ Pearl on the telecast.

For the year, Storm/Roto Grip staffers and free agents using Storm and Roto Grip balls won 13 titles out of 17 events (including two International PBA events). Storm/Roto Grip staffers, and free agents using Storm and Roto Grip balls finished second five times, including Ryan Shafer in a major (PBA World Championship).  

Storm staffers won two majors (Palermaa - PBA World Championship, Pete Weber - U.S Open). Two players took third in majors, Belmonte - 2012 PBA Tournament of Champions/U. S Open and free agent Bryon Smith - USBC Masters. 

Nine different players won with Storm and Roto Grip equipment on the 2011/12 PBA Tour. Bemonte and Norm Duke won three times, Osku Palermaa won twice and six players won one title. 

In the opening match, Ciminelli defeated another Player of the Year contender, Mike Fagan of Dallas, 190-182, in a mistake-filled match. Fagan opened in three of his first five frames before rallying with a late turkey. Ciminelli also survived a pair of unconverted splits, throwing the first string of three strikes in the match to protect his slim lead and converting a 7 pin in the 10th frame to lock up the win. Fagan had won a pair of 2011-12 titles including the United States Bowling Congress Masters, one of the PBA Tour’s four major championships.

With Ciminelli’s loss, the PBA Tour completed its first season since 1962 without a left-handed title winner.

While the PBA Tour’s regular season ended with the Tournament of Champions, a special post-season PBA Summer Shootout is planned for Memorial Day weekend in Chicago. Details will be announced soon.

Red Rock Lanes, Las Vegas, Sunday

1, Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., one game, 239 pins, $80,000. 
2, Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y., three games, 652 pins, $40,000. 
3, Jason Belmonte, Australia, one game, 223 pins, $20,000. 
4, Mike Fagan, Dallas, one game, 182 pins, $12,000.

Match One: Ciminelli def. Fagan, 190-182. 
Semifinal Match: Ciminelli def. Belmonte, 257-223. 
Championship: Rash def. Ciminelli, 239-205.


Storm/Roto Grip Wins - 2012 PBA Tour

1. 2012 PBA Pepsi Elite Players Championship - Jason Belmonte - Storm Marvel™ Pearl

2.. 2012 PBA Dick Weber Playoffs - Norm Duke - Storm Frantic™

3. 2012 PBA Carmen Salvino Classic - Andres Gomez - Storm Marvel™ Pearl/Hy-Road™

4. 2012 PBA Mark Roth-Marshall Holman Doubles Championship - Norm Duke/Wes Malott - Storm Frantic™/Anarchy™

5. 2012 PBA Kuwait International Open - Osku Palermaa - Storm Natural™

6. 2012 PBA Detroit Open - Norm Duke - Roto Grip Outlaw™

7. 2012 PBA GEICO Shark Open - Jason Belmonte - Storm Marvel Pearl™/Roto Grip Critical Theory™

8. 2012 U.S Open - Pete Weber - Storm Marvel™ Pearl/Frantic™

9. 2012 PBA Ricart Ford Open - Scott Newell - Storm Victory Road™ Solid

10. 2012 PBA Scorpion Open - Dominic Barrett - Storm Marvel Pearl™/Roto Grip Critical Theory™

11. 2012 PBA Chameleon Open - Jason Belmonte - Storm Marvel Pearl™/Roto Grip Outlaw™

12. 2012 PBA Viper Open  - Stuart Williams - Storm Victory Road™ Solid/Tropical Heat™

13. 2012 PBA World Championship - Osku Palermaa -  Storm Hy-Road™/Roto Grip Outlaw™/Defiant™



Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

April, 2012