Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - January 27, 2012 USBC Masters Field Narrows...

The lone woman remaining in the field - Missy Parkin of Lake Forest, Calif. - was among 16 undefeated players after the opening rounds of double-elimination match play Thursday at the 2012 Alka Seltzer Plus Liquid Gels United States Bowling Congress Masters.

Parkin went 2-0 in matches at Sunset Station's Strike Zone Bowling Center and with one more victory Friday would break the record for the high finish by a woman at the Masters. Dana Miller-Mackie (2000) and Liz Johnson (2006) hold the record by finishing in a tie for 17th position.

"I have never made match play before at the Masters, and I'm excited because I love match play," said Parkin, who won the 2011 USBC Queens. "Match play is one of the biggest assets of my game because I love the head-to-head matches. The first two matches are always the most important, and I'm very happy to be 2-0."

In her final match of the night, Parkin, a two-time PBA regional champion, took down one of the top stars in the Professional Bowlers Association when she defeated Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, 662-609. In her opening match, Parkin defeated Hong Kong's Siu Hong Wu, 725-659.

In order to keep her string of victories alive, Parkin will face some tough competition. She takes on last year's runner-up Jack Jurek of Lackawanna, N.Y., in her first match Friday.

The highest remaining seed in the winners bracket is Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, who entered the bracket as the No. 3 seed. Barnes rolled to a pair of easy victories in Thursday's opening rounds.

"I really think you have to win your first three matches in this format to have a legit shot to make the championship round," Barnes said. "You can make it if you drop to the losers bracket, but you have to dodge some bullets. My shot making has been getting better and I'm looking forward to getting off to a quick start and winning some matches tomorrow."

Defending champion Tom Hess of Urbandale, Iowa, was eliminated Thursday. After defeating top seed Rick Steelsmith of Wichita, Kan., 660-603, in the opening round, Hess lost his next two matches to end his title defense.

A total of 32 players remain in the hunt for this year's Masters title with 16 players in the winners bracket and 16 players in the losers bracket. All players completed 15 games of qualifying over three days to earn their spot in match play.

The week began with 305 of the best players in the world vying for a piece of the $250,000 prize fund and $50,000 first-place prize. The Masters will conclude Sunday with the nationally televised stepladder finals at 12:30 p.m. Eastern on ESPN.

At Sunset Station Strike Zone Bowling Center, Henderson, Nev. 
Thursday's results 
Double elimination, three-game matches decided by total pinfall 
(Winners remain in winners bracket. Losers move to losers bracket) 
(64) Tom Hess, Urbandale, Iowa
, def. (1) Rick Steelsmith, Wichita, Kan., 660-603. 
(32) Bryon Smith, Roseburg, Ore., def. (33) Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 673-629. 
(47) Rhino Page, Dade City, Fla., def.  (17) Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 613-535. 
(16) Mike Wolfe, New Albany, Ind., def. (49) Stevie Weber, Chalmette, La., 704-621. 
(9) Mike Fagan, Dallas, def. (56) Michael Machuga, Erie, Pa., 718-686. 
(24) Eric Espinda, Albuquerque, N.M., def. (41) Mike Danielson, Portland, Ore., 633-610. 
(40) Steven McCracken, Parker, Colo., def. (25) Kyle Bigelow, Troy, Ohio, 634-566. 
(8) Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., def. (57) Vernon Peterson, Lake Wales, Fla., 638-587.

(60) Wayne Garber, Modesto, Calif., def. (4) D.J. Archer, Port Arthur, Texas, 644-605. 
(37) Tom Baker, King, N.C., def.  (28) PJ Haggerty, Roseville, Calif., 678-638. 
(21) Jon Van Hees, Charlestown, R.I., def. (44) Brian Kretzer, Dayton, Ohio, 669-660. 
(12) Tom Daugherty, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. (53) Humberto Vazquez, Mexico, 666-496. 
(13) Stuart Williams, England, def. (52) Anthony LaCaze, Melrose Park, Ill., 625-605. 
(20) John Szczerbinski, North Tonawanda, N.Y., def. (45) Jesse Buss, Wichita, Kan., 651-630. 
(35) Chris Warren, Grants Pass, Ore., def. (29) Matt McNiel, Chanhassen, Minn., 666-648. 
(4) Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. (61) Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 744-567.

(3) Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, def. (60) John Slavich IV, Schaumburg, Ill., 711-663. 
(30) Kris Koeltzow, Wheat Ridge, Colo., def. (35) Shigeo Saitoh, Japan, 682-574. 
(18) Martin Larsen, Sweden, def. (46) Bill Crane III, Mishawaka, Ind., 720-664. 
(14) Kurt Pilon, Warren, Mich., def. (51) Mathew Jones, Phoenix, 642-611. 
(54) Nathan Bohr, Wichita, Kan., def. (11) Alex Aguiar, N. Dartmouth, Mass., 672-657. 
(22) Dan MacLelland, Canada, def. (43) Robert Gotchall, Lincoln, Neb., 651-646. 
(27) Keith Odette, Waipahu, Hawaii, def. (38) John Janawicz, Winter Haven, Fla., 695-631. 
(6) Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., def. (59) Kyle Barnes, Smyrna, Tenn., 633-575.

(7) Bill O'Neill, Southampton, Pa., def. (58) Lee Vanderhoef, Greenville, S.C., 671-532. 
(26) Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., def. (39) Paul Ashby, Middleburg Hts., Ohio, 595-570. 
(23) Dick Allen, Columbia, S.C., def. (42) Josh Blanchard, Gilbert, Ariz., 670-608. 
(9) Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, def. (55) Brian Valenta, Lockport, Ill., 591-536. 
(15) Jason Sterner, McDonough, Ga., def. (50) Jason Duran, Arvada, Colo., 682-647. 
(47) Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., def. (18) Steven Badovinac, Parker, Colo., 668-534. 
(34) Missy Parkin, Lake Forest, Calif., def.  (31) Siu Hong Wu, Hong Kong, 725-659. 
(2) Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, def. (63) Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 672-593. 
Smith def. Hess, 710-618. 
Wolfe def. Page, 704-623. 
Fagan def. Espinda, 709-552. 
Shafer def. McCracken, 596-579. 
Baker def. Garber, 682-613. 
Van Hees def. Daugherty, 641-634. 
S. Williams def. Szczerbinski, 683-646. 
Warren def. Belmonte, 689-597. 
Pilon def. Larsen, 634-558. 
C. Barnes def. Koeltzow, 726-560. 
Bohr def. MacLelland, 694-667. 
Odette def. T. Jones, 639-615. 
Russell def. O'Neill, 615-614. 
Loschetter def. Allen, 782-652. 
Jurek def. Sterner, 616-616, 204-200 in one-game roll-off. 
Parkin def. Malott, 662-609. 
B. Smith vs. Wolfe 
Fagan vs. Shafer 
Baker vs. Van Hees 
S. Williams vs. Warren 
C. Barnes vs. Pilon 
Bohr vs. Odette 
Russell vs. Loschetter 
Jurek vs. Parkin 
(Losers eliminated, earn $1,500) 
Steelsmith def. Duke, 666-640. 
Peterson def. Bigelow, 745-634. 
S. Weber def. Monacelli, 622-618. 
Machuga def. Danielson, 660-562. 
Haggerty def. Archer, 784-620. 
Angelo def. McNiel, 657-625. 
Vazquez def. Kretzer, 717-609. 
LaCaze def. Buss, 630-526. 
Saitoh def. Slavich, 700-571. 
K. Barnes def. Janawicz, 594-568. 
Crane def. M. Jones, 595-560. 
Gotchall def. Aguiar, 670-628. 
Ashby def. Vanderhoef, 629-604. 
W.R. Williams def. Hong, 697-650. 
Blanchard def. Valenta, 610-575. 
Badovinac def. Duran, 616-542. 
(Losers eliminated, earn $1,700) 
Steelsmith def. Larsen, 694-647. 
MacLelland def. Peterson, 642-205. 
S. Weber def. Koeltzow, 657-532. 
T. Jones def.  Machuga, 623-610. 
Haggerty def. Allen, 665-608. 
Angelo def. Sterner, 704-587. 
O'Neill def. Vazquez, 684-539. 
Malott def.  LaCaze, 637-618. 
Saitoh def. Page, 694-668. 
Espinda def. K. Barnes, 625-597. 
Crane def. Hess, 645-620. 
McCracken def. Gotchall, 648-548. 
Ashby def. Daugherty, 608-517. 
Szczerbinski def. W.R. Williams, 730-673. 
Garber def. Blanchard, 713-576. 
Belmonte def. Badovinac, 652-632. 
Steelsmith vs. MacLelland 
S. Weber vs. T. Jones 
Haggerty vs. Angelo 
O'Neill vs. Malott 
Saitoh vs. Espinda 
Crane vs. McCracken 
Ashby vs. Szczerbinski 
Garber vs. Belmonte


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

January, 2012