Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - December 14, 2011 Osku Stays Red Hot with Victory at Swedish Super Six Event...

Storm International staOsku Palermaa won the final stop of the Swedish Super Six Tour 2011 defeating the No. 1 seed James Gruffman, 246-204, in the title match of the Malmö International on Sunday, Dec. 11 at Baltiska bowling center in Malmö. 

Palermaa, who closed out the match with a six-bagger, earned 40.000 Swedish Kronor or approx. $5,800 for the victory which capped off a highly successful year including wins on the European Bowling Tour and the Professional Bowlers Association Tour. 

"It was my second win on the Super Six tour", said Palermaa. "I think I have played between 20 and 30 Super Six stops and I am satisfied with my statistics when it comes to reaching the top 4. Maybe I did it once in every fourth tournament; it is not easy to win out here", added Palermaa, who lives in Gothenburg, Sweden, and commonly plays for Team Pergamon in the Swedish league. 

24-year-old Gruffman dominated the preliminaries averaging 257.11 for nine games. The lefty received 25.000 SEK for second place. 

In the opening match of the four-player stepladder finals, Swedish national team member Mikael Kanold topped 18-year-old Markus Jansson, 249-193. In the semifinal, Palermaa struck out in the tenth frame to advance to the title match, 238-228. 

Kanold got 15.000 SEK for third place while Jansson pocketed 10.000 SEK for fourth place. 

The win was a special one for Palermaa as the Swedish Super Six Tour will cease operations after more than twelve years. The first tournament took place in Norrtälje in August 1999 and the final stop in Malmö was the 72nd tournament. 

SSST featured competition on the highest international level and the winners' list includes international stars such as Tim Mack and Bill Hoffman of the United States, reigning PBA Player of the Year Mika KoivuniemiKimmo Lehtonen and Lasse Lintilä of Finland as well as Tore Torgersen of Norway, to mention a few. 

During the 72 tournaments there have been 48 different champions. Swedish legend Tomas Leandersson has won record six titles while Mack and Swedish standouts Anders Öhman and Martin Larsen each won four titles. 


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News