Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - September 12, 2011 Gold for TEAM USA...

Team USA ends 24-year Team title draught with 1210-1140 victory over Singapore


In a match between two women's bowling powerhouses, the United States defeated Singapore, 1210-1140, to win its first gold medal in the five-player team event at a World Championship since 24 years.

It was the third consecutive gold medal for Team USA in this championship after winning the titles in Doubles and Trios. 

The last time that the American women have won the Team gold was in 1987. At the 2009 Women's World Championships in Henderson, Nev., the United States lost in the gold-medal match to Korea, 1175-1071. In 2007 the Americans fell in the six-game total-pin format to Malaysia by seven pins and lost the gold to Chinese Taipei in 2005 by 12 pins. 

The victory by the U.S. team also marked the fourth time in as many events that the No. 4 seed emerged victorious. 

Hats off to the young Singaporean squad Daphne Tan, Cherie Tan, New Hui Fen, Shayna Ng and Jazreel Tan (sixth players was Geraldine Ng), which led the championship match at the halfway mark by 24 pins. 

Tides turned when the Americans reeled of 15 consecutive strikes as a team. All five U.S. players, (Roto Grip's) Carolyn Dorin-Ballard, Shannon Pluhowsky, (Storm's) Shannon O'Keefe, Kelly Kulick and Liz Johnson (sixth player was Stefanie Nation), doubled in the 10th frame to hold a comfortable 79-pin lead heading into the last frame. The U.S. team wrapped up the title with a clean 10th frame. 

Singapore's anchor bowler, Jazreel Tan, who studies in the U.S. and bowls for Wichita State, had the front eight before she left a 1ß-pin in the 9th frame. Team USA anchor Liz Johnson was perfect after nine frames and also left a 10-pin standing in the 10th frame. 

In the semifinals the USA eliminated top seeded Germany 1080-970, while Singapore, seeded second, topped No. 3 seed Colombia (pictured right), in another high-scoring match, 1225-1103. Singapore took the silver medal while Germany and Colombia shared the bronze medal. It was an impressive showing by all four teams. 

The 2011 Women's World Championships will conclude on Sunday, Sept. 11 with the Masters competition at Hong Kong Bowling City in Hong Kong, China. 

The Germans have four players in the opening Round of 16 in best of-three-games match play, while Team USA and Singapore are represented by three players each. Defending Team champion Korea, who missed the finals in fifth place, also has four players in the Masters, while Canada and Denmark will each be represented by one player. 

The fourth Women's World Championships takes place at bowling center Hong Kong Bowling City in Hong Kong, China, from Sept. 1 through 11, 2011.

171 of the best women bowlers in the world featuring 33 countries compete for gold, silver and bronze medals in Singles, Doubles, Trios, five-player Team event, All Events and Masters in the nine-day event.

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News