Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - May 31, 2011 57th U.S Women's Open Set for Dallas...

The 57th edition of Bowling’s U.S. Women’s Open, will make history. Qualifying and the Round of 32 and 16 will be held from June 24-29, 2011 at AMF Euless Lanes in Texas.

The top five players will determine the champion in a stepladder final on June 30 to be staged on the biggest stage possible for their sport: the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, home of the NFL's Dallas Cowboys and host of Super Bowl XLV.

103,219 spectators watched on Feb. 6, 2011 the Green Bay Packers defeating the Pittsburgh Steelers by the score of 31–25 for the Packers' fourth Super Bowl victory.

The 2011 U.S. Women’s Open will offer total prize fund of $200.000 based on 300 entries. As of May 26, the tournament's total number of entries was 260.

The winner will receive the $50,000 top prize, the runner-up gets $25,000, third place is worth $15,000, the fourth-place finisher takes $12,500 while the fifth-place finisher garners $10,000.

38 players from 15 foreign countries will represent all three zones (Asia, Europe and America) of the World Tenpin Bowling Association - Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Dominican Republic, England, Germany, Japan, Latvia, Netherlands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Korea, Sweden and Venezuela.

Spearheading the international contingent are:

Carol Gianotti, Australia, 16-time PWBA champion
Clara Juliana Guerrero, Colombia, two-time World champion, 2005 World Ranking Masters champion
Nina Flack, Sweden, 2007 World champion, European champion, two-time EBT ranking champion
Helen Johnsson, Sweden, 2007 World champion, European champion
Liza Del Rosario, Philippines, 2003 World champion
Patricia Luoto, Germany, 1997 World Games gold medalist
Aumi Guerra, Dominican Republic, 2010 World Cup champion
Caroline Lagrange, Canada, 2009 World Cup champion
Sara Vargas, Colombia, 2006 World Ranking Masters champion
Rocio Restrepo, Colombia, 2011 CONCECABOL Masters champion
Anngie Ramirez, Colombia, 2011 NCAA champion, 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Team champion
Maria Rodriguez, Colombia, 2010 World Youth champion, 2011 NCAA champion, 2011 USBC Intercollegiate Team champion
Mai Ginge Jensen, Denmark, European champion and current European Bowling Tour ranking leader
Kamilla Kjeldsen, Denmark, two-time EBT ranking champion and three-time EBT Masters winner
Alicia Marcano, Venezuela, American champion
Karen Marcano, Venezuela, American champion
Nicki Ainge, England, 2009 EBT ranking champion
Laura Fonnegra, Colombia, 2010 World Youth champion
Diana Zavjalova, Latvia, 2008 European Youth champion

For the TV Show on June 30th the remaining five players will arrive to the Cowboys Stadium at 10:00 a.m. where interviews, photos, etc. will be taking place. They will practice around 5:30 p.m. on the lanes and the TV show will start at 7:00 p.m.

This will mark the first time in the history of the sport that a women's major professional bowling event will be held in a traditional sporting venue. The finals will be broadcast live on the stadium's famed 60-yard high definition video board.


Share this Story:

previous article »