Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - April 21, 2011 BWAA Collegiate Bowlers Of They Year Announced

COLUMBUS, Ga., April 20, 2011 - Jazreel Tan of Wichita State University and T.J. Schmidt of Roto Grip sponsored Purdue University were presented the Bowling Writers Association of America's (BWAA) Collegiate Bowlers of the Year awards at the awards reception held in conjunction with the Intercollegiate Bowling Championships in Columbus, Georgia. Both bowlers, Tan in the women's competitions and Schmidt in the men's, had dominating seasons, particularly in the year's major tournaments.

Tan captured the individual all-events titles in the Blue & Gold Classic and the Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic. She also finished fourth in the Collegiate Shoot-Out and sixth in the Glenn Carlson Las Vegas Invitational, giving her a top-6 finish in all four of the Tier 1 tournaments in which she competed this season. She also claimed the all-events crown in the Mid-States Tournament, a Tier 2 tournament which consistently features a very strong field, giving her top-6 finishes in 5 out of 6 tournaments this season.

Schmidt captured the men's all-events crowns in the National Collegiate Team Match Games and the Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic. With a 3rd place finish in the Blue & Gold Classic, he had top-3 finishes in three of the four Tier 1 tournaments in which he competed. He also took the top individual honors in the Brickyard Classic, for top 3 finishes in 5 out of the 9 tournaments in which he competed this season.

Runners-Up for the women's award (in alphabetical order):


Jenn Boisselle                  University of Central Florida

Amanda Greene                Lindenwood University

Maria Rodriguez               University of Maryland - Eastern Shore

Kim Yioulos                      Pikeville College

Women's finalists receiving Honorable Mention (6th through 8th places in the BWAA voting) are:


Brandi Branka                    McKendree University

Heather D'Errico                Robert Morris University - Illinois

Kristie Petravich                University of Central Florida

Runners-Up for the men's award (in alphabetical order, five names due to a tie for 5th place in the voting):


Chris Bardol                      Robert Morris University - Illinois

Marcus Berndt                   Wichita State University

Charles Easton                  University of Toledo

Greg Geering                    California State University - Fresno

Marcelo Suartz                  Webber International University

Men's finalists receiving Honorable Mention (7th & 8th places in the BWAA voting) are:

Jack Castellano                 Briarcliffe College

Erik Gulbrandson               Wichita State University


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

April, 2011