Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - January 27, 2011 Storm's Dominic Barrett Named World Bowling Writer's Bowler of the Year...

Storm International staffer Dominic Barrett and Kelly Kulick have been named WBW Bowlers of the Year.

Read entire story here:

Barrett claims the title for the third time in three years. Kulick dominates ladies bowling and claims PBA TOC Between August 2009 and July 2010, Kelly Kulick had the most successful 12 months in women’s bowling history. Not only did she win the Tournament of Champions for a PBA Tour major championship (and a two-year exemption to continue bowling on the Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour through 2012.

Barrett most recently captured the 23rd Irish Open Championships . Barrett, England, and Cassie Staudinger, Australia, dominated the men's and women's division en route to win the 3.000 and 1.000 Euro top prizes, respectively.

Barrett, the 2010 European Bowling Tour ranking champion, captured his third career IO title after 2008 and 2008 and a runner-up finish in 2009. Staudinger, a member of the Australian women's national team, became just the second bowler from the Asian Bowling Federation to win the women's division. Sharon Low, Malaysia, accomplished the feat back in 1997.

The 23rd running of the Irish Open Championships was held from Jan. 21-23, 2011 at Stillorgan Leisureplex in Dublin, Ireland, and drew 21 women and 91 men from 17 countries - Australia, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Isle of Man, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Philippines, Scotland, Slovenia, Sweden, United States and Wales.

All players rolled eight games to cut to the top 61 men plus the top 5 from the Desperado Squad and the top 32 women who advanced to the second round with the pinfall being carried forward. As just 21 women participated all of them advanced.

The men added another three rounds of four games which trimmed the field to 32, 16 and then 8 who advanced to match play, while the women needed just two rounds of four games to cut to the top 8. The remaining eight men and eight women bowled another seven games of round robin to determine the champions.

Staudinger went wire-to-wire capturing her first IO title in record-setting style. The Aussie took a 206-pin lead after averaging 229.75 in the first round and widened her lead to 465 pins heading into match play out averaging her nearest competitor by almost 30 pins.

Staudinger won the first two games with 246 and 248 to wrap-up the title. She finished with 5256 pinfall total including bonus and an average of 225.91 for 23 games. Hannah Cullen, Ireland, averaged 218.86 in match play and won all but one game to leap from fifth to second place with 4803 (202.96). Third place went to 2009 IO women's champion Kerena Dykes, Ireland. with 4782 (202.26).

Barrett was in second place after Round One with 1878 trail leader Stephen O'Connor. Ireland, by 17 pins (1895, 236.88 ave.). The Englishman took the lead with a 1037 four-game series (259.25 ave.) in Round Two (268, 279, 268, 222) and never looked back.

Barrett added 972 in Round Three and 982 in Round Four including the tournament's lone 300 game, worth another 400 Euro), to hold a comfortable 322-pin lead over Ireland's Alan Gibbons with seven match play games to go.

Despite averaging 234.86 in match play, Barrett won just three of his seven games (he lost with 256 and 245). He finished in style firing a 276 to win his third title in four years with 6613 pinfall total including bonus and an average of 241.22 over 27 games.

Gibbons posted the field-best 1668 series in match play (238.29 ave.) winning five out of seven games to maintain second place with 6380 (230.19). Matt Hann beat out Graham Turner, both Ireland, for third place by 34 pins, 6164 to 6130.

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

January, 2011